A curated selection of  articles we find interesting, or relevant, for the times and our readers!

£2.5m Of Books Stolen In ‘Mission Impossible’ Heist Recovered From Underground Romanian Lair

Friday September 18, 2020

Some 200 “culturally significant” books including works by Galileo, Sir Isaac Newton and Goya that were stolen in a west London heist have been found buried underground in Romania.

The books were swiped in January 2017 during a burglary in Feltham, which saw thieves cut holes in the roof of...

Ronan Farrow, Emily Bazelon and Colson Whitehead among L.A. Times Book Prize finalists

Wednesday February 19, 2020

Ronan Farrow, Emily Bazelon, Attica Locke, Michael Connelly and Colson Whitehead are among the finalists for the 40th annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizesannounced Wednesday, with crime novelist Walter Mosley named as the winner of the 2019 Robert Kirsch Award for lifetime achievement.

Click here to read full LA Times article!


Kobe Bryant Was Working on a Children's Book When He Died. His Co-Author Just Deleted the Draft

Tuesday January 28, 2020

Kobe Bryant and Brazilian writer Paulo Coelho were working together on a children’s book, but the author of “The Alchemist” said he deleted the draft after Bryant’s death in a helicopter crash.

The 72-year-old novelist told The Associated Press on Monday that the two men started discussing the project in...

Two Authors Just Won the Nobel Prize for Literature. Here's What to Know About Them

Thursday October 10, 2019

"For the first time in the Nobel Prize for Literature’s 118-year history, two authors were announced Thursday as recipients of the award: Austrian novelist and playwright Peter Handke and Polish author Olga Tokarczuk. (Handke received the Prize for 2019. Tokarczuk received the Prize for 2018.)

Last year’s Nobel Prize for Literature...